Tour the cemetery of St. James on the Lines - the oldest cemetery in Penetanguishene - by lantern light, encountering many "spirits" of Penetanguishene's past. Listen as they share their personal stories and discover the significant history of the church.
St. James on-the-Lines was built between 1836 and 1838 as the garrison church for the nearby military establishment, now known as Discovery Harbour. “on-the-Lines” referring to the supply lines from Fort York in present-day Toronto. During these early years the congregation was made up of soldiers from the establishment, military pensioners living on small two-acre grants along the lines, settlers from the farms in the area and townspeople from the developing town site at the foot of the bay.
This event is hosted by the Penetanguishene Centennial Museum & Archives
Tickets: $10.00 per person and are available at the museum or online
*Tickets are limited and must be purchased in advance